Thursday, August 4, 2011

The Davis Scholarship

The Davis Scholarship is a scholarship that is provided by Shelby M.C and Gale L. Davis, based on need, for graduates of United World College schools who are accepted on merit and enrol at one of the participating US colleges and universities.

The Davis Goal
The Davis United World College Scholars Program is a highly important and valuable philanthropic program that aims to reinforce relationships between the US and other countries. The idea of the scholarship is to bring together students from different ethnic and economic backgrounds. They are all united by a great interest in global issues and in making positive changes to the world.

How to Apply for the Davis Scholarship
There are many institutions that participate in the program and each have applied and been carefully considered.
Whilst the scholarship program does not give grants to individual students (only to institutions), you can still benefit greatly if you attend one of the participating schools.

Schools Eligible for the Davis Scholarship

The following are just some of the institutions which have been chosen for the Davis United World College Scholars Program.

Barnard College New York, NY
Brown University Providence, RI
Clark University Worcester, MA
College of Idaho Caldwell, ID
Denison University Granville, OH
Grinnell College Grinnell, IA
Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD
Oberlin College Oberlin, OH
Smith College Northampton, MA
Northwestern University Evanston, IL
University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA
Agnes Scott College Decatur, GA

Bryn Mawr College Bryn Mawr, PA
Lewis & Clark College Portland, OR
Lake Forest College Lake Forest, IL
Scripps College Claremont, CA
Whitman College Walla Walla, WA